All Web users are mainly worried about privacy on the Internet. Ever since Facebook became part of the daily life of millions of people, it has developed several systems to protect the personal data of users and it tries to help those who wish to delete their profile and all the information stored on it permanently.
Before going ahead and permanently deleting your account, you can temporarily ‘hide’ and your details will not be visible until your account is reactivated. This way allows you to deactivate your profile but allows you to reactivate it later and retrieve information, photos and messages that were saved right up to the time when you deactivated your account. This is therefore not a final deletion.
- All you need to do to deactivate your profile is click on the asterisk in the top right (next to your name and the Home menu)
- Then select Account Settings
- Click on Security
- Finally click on ‘Deactivate your account’.
Even though your friends won’t be able to contact you through your Facebook profile any more, some information may remain visible all the same, such as messages sent in the past and your name in their list of friends.
What if you don’t want to hide and you’d rather delete yourself completely from this Social Network?
It’s always best to work step-by-step and start by checking and deleting photos and albums, personal information, messages, comments and tags. Permanent deletion should eliminate everything automatically but it may be that some content could initially remain recorded on Facebook’s servers (and when it comes to privacy, it’s best to play it safe).
- So have a look at your profile and start deleting personal information (the school you went to, employment details, relatives, your address, mobile phone numbers linked to your profile etc.), your albums (so any tags, photos and videos), messages (sent and received), applications used and all the content that has been saved over time.
- Once you’ve finished this phase, all you need to do to delete your account permanently is click on this link: https://www.facebook.com/help/delete_account.
You will be asked for your password and you’ll need to copy the Captcha code. Your account will be immediately deactivated and its permanent deletion will take place no more than two weeks later. If you change your mind and you want to stay on Facebook, all you need to do is log in (the exact deletion date will also appear) before the two weeks are up.
If you want to complete this operation by contacting Facebook’s Help Centre, you can send an e-mail to email@example.com and ask them to delete your account: the help staff will answer in a matter of days and they will confirm that they have carried out your request. You have about a week to change your mind (the quickest way is usually via e-mail) and you can write to the same e-mail address to cancel your request for deletion.
Once the time it takes to implement your request has passed, you can check that the procedure has worked. Just try logging in and if you can’t, or if you don’t see the message asking you if you want to cancel your deletion request any more, this means that your request has been accepted and implemented: you are now officially no longer a part of this Social Network.